Sweet Bean Pie !! from the Nation of Islam

Eeeww  Bean Pie???  you say!…. I know huh!  I remember when my husband Demetris mentioned Bean Pie to me…..my instant reaction was  eewww dude  that sounds gross!!  being that I am not a big  bean lover & for the beans I do eat, I’m rather picky about how they are made.  I also do NOT eat Pies such as Sweet Potatoe Pie or Pumpkin Pie.

The  Bean Pie was ….Born in the Nation of Islam.. a  religious black nationalist and social reform movement formed in the 1930’s, and led by Elijah Muhammad. Elijah Muhammad wrote a book called “How to Eat to Live” , where he detailed healthy eating guidelines, to improve and prolong life.    The Bean Pie is made of Navy Beans, with basic core ingredients, such as sugar, butter, milk, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg. Bakers will add their own touch of flavors such as cloves, ginger and more.

The thought of Bean and Pie put together is hard to digest in ones train of thought, let alone to taste :)  Well I am a brave one! I took my first bite nine years ago , with the thought in mind on how quickly I will be spitting this out …..  & of course to my surprise I was overwhelmed by the sweet smooth taste.   I learnt that it can be eaten warm, cold or hot… I prefer nice and chilled :)

Now the downside to the bean Pie is that it is NOT mass produced, and you really need to find a reliable producer/baker…… Because its not cool when we are needing that bean Pie Fix and not being able to find it anywhere ….  our supplier is a good 35 mins away, so we make that trip worthwhile, to find that sometimes they are closed  grrrrr frustrating it is!!..lol …the  other option is to look out for community followers who sell bean pies for fundraising….they are normally dressed in suits :) .  I have made my own and definitely need practice :)

I have officially hooked all my kids onto the Bean Pie.  serve it with a chilled cup of milk and there you go :)

I have included a recipe, now there is always a disagreement on whats the best and original recipe….. so its completely personal taste I think and most people add their own touch to every recipe… I for one am a culprit to doing this to almost every recipe.

This recipe makes two 9 inch pies.

Nation of Islam Navy Bean Pies

2 cups cooked navy beans (drained canned are fine to use)
4 eggs
1 14oz. can of evaporated milk
1 stick of butter (softened)
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 Tablesppons flour
2 cups sugar
2 Tablespoons vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Line two 9 inch pie plates with crust. Dot a few holes with the end of sharp
knife or fork a few times.
In large mixing bowl mash beans with a potato masher, add the butter, milk,
eggs, nutmeg, cinnamon and flour. Mix with electric hand mixer until well
blended 2-3 minutes. Add sugar and vanilla and blend. Pour mixture into the
two pie shells and bake about one hour, until golden brown and set.

So go on be Brave try one  or make one you will NOT regret it.

For a more in depth cultural history on the Bean Pie I came across this wonderful writer  check it out Bean Pie my Brother?

 

Comments
20 Responses to “Sweet Bean Pie !! from the Nation of Islam”
  1. Fatir says:

    I’ve used this recipe and it tastes great! The only problem I have is that my pie does not look like the pictures above. It comes out looking a lot lighter. I don’t know if oven type makes a difference, if I’m baking it long enough ( I let it bake an hour ), or if it’s something else.

    I want to know how I can get my pie to have the same perfectly brown top, the way it looks in the picture. Thanks.

    • Hi there Fatir

      Try and sprinkle a mixture of cinnamon, nutmeg & brown sugar on the top. :)

      • Delia says:

        Hi Mariela, when you make this mixture, is it right after the pie filling is placed into the shells and before going in the oven? Would you be able to provide an example of the measurements you used for this mixture on top? Thanks.

      • Delia says:

        Hi Mariela, when you make this mixture, is it right after the pie filling is placed into the shells and before going in the oven? Would you be able to provide an example of the measurements you used for this mixture on top? Also, some people use the whole egg and I have seen others take off the yolk. Please let me know how you do it. Thanks.

      • Hello Delia. , mix in 1tspn of each, cinnamon, nutmeg and brown sugar, and sift it over the pie before putting it in the oven to bake. You could also play with it and add 1 egg to the dry mixture , whisk it thoroughly and apply it over the pie with a baking brush. I’ve done both ways I like the moisture , but I also like the vrunch I think it’s a personal touch. Try both ways. Add some of your own twist too :)

  2. Ella says:

    I’m planning on making this tomorrow. My beans are soaking right now! Just one question: did you use brown or white sugar?

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thank you so much. I had this recipe a long time ago and thru my travels I have miss placed it. So again Thank you and my peace be with you all of your days.

  4. Ethel says:

    This is an excellent version of the original pie. So good. I really appreciate that it isn’t overly sweet. However, next time I will add a little salt. Also used all organic ingredients. And made only one pie. To make non-glutin crust, use Pamela’s Baking Mix. This one is a keeper. Thank you for posting the recipe.

    • yay!! I am happy you liked it!…. I must use ALL organic ingredients myself!! and you are very welcome!! please feel free to share your own recipe!!

      • Eboni says:

        No problem with sharing… I didn’t change your recipe just the type of ingredients. Fresh and Easy markets carry their brand of canned beans which are organic. Pamela’s baking mix is glutin free and is available at most stores like Sprouts, Fresh and Easy, Whole Foods or online. There are organic milk alternatives like hemp, coconut, almond or oat. But to keep the pie mixture thick use canned full fat coconut. I get my eggs fresh from a local farmer who uses sustainable methods or either buy organic ones from the market. One thing that may send this over the top is to use duck eggs! OMG, they are so rich and delicious. I’ve even used them in making mayonnaise and felt guilty using it because of the richness and goodness. The flour, even though I am trying to be almost glutin free, is from organic wheat because I didn’t want to change your excellent recipe and glad I didn’t.

      • Interesting, I might give your ingredients a try. sounds delightful!!
        thank you for visiting my page :)

  5. lol @ Eboni… I can very much say that in our family!! 1 dozen personal Bean pies last for less than 8 hours in my household of 6 …lol

  6. Anonymous says:

    I havee been craving a bean pie since moving back to NC and today I passed a corner where a gentleman was selling. I purchase only one. Big mistake and forced me search for the recipe. THANK YOU

  7. Brother Johnny says:

    How long should the pies bake?

  8. Oh yes I was contemplating on putting Elijah Muhammed’s book in for reference :) thank you

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] interesting facts about their origins. They’re actually a fairly modern food brought about by the Nation of Islam. The founder, Elijah Muhammed said in his book “How to Eat to Live” of the navy bean: This bean [...]



Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 789 other followers

  • Random Pics

  • Wedding Wire RATED!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 789 other followers

